The New Climate Economy welcomes three new commissioners

London, April 9th, 2015: The New Climate Economy (NCE) is very pleased to announce the addition of three new distinguished commissioners to the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate: Suma Chakrabarti, Naina Lal Kidwai and Kristin Skogen Lund. They bring a wealth of private and public experience and expertise to the Commission.

Suma Chakrabarti is the President of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Most recently he held the position of Permanent Secretary at the British Ministry of Justice and was its most senior civil servant.

Naina Lal Kidwai is the Chairman, HSBC India and Director, HSBC Asia Pacific. She is a former President of the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI).

Kristin Skogen Lund is the Director-General of the Confederation of Norwegian Enterprise (NHO). She is also the former Executive Vice President and Head of Nordic region, Digital Services Division and Broadcast at Telenor, the Norwegian telecoms company.

Together, these three new members join a Commission now 28 strong, with members drawn from twenty countries. The Commission is an international initiative to investigate and communicate the relationship between economic growth and climate change. Chaired by Felipe Calderón, former President of Mexico, and co-chaired by renowned economist Lord Nicholas Stern, the Commission comprises leading figures in the fields of government, business and finance.  

News Article Type: