Members of the Global Commission

The initiative is overseen by a Global Commission comprising former heads of government and finance ministers, and leaders in the fields of economics, business and finance. All members serve in a personal capacity. A list of our Emeritus Commissioners is available here.

Mari Elka Pangestu

Co-Chair; Member, WRI Board of Directors; Managing Director Of Development Policy And Partnerships, World Bank

Mari Pangestu is the World Bank Managing Director of Development Policy and Partnerships. In this role, which she assumed on March 1, 2020, Ms. Pangestu provides leadership and oversees the research and data group of the World Bank (DEC), the work program of the World Bank’s Global Practice Groups, and the External and Corporate Relations function.

Paul Polman

Co-Chair, Co-Founder & Chair of Imagine

Paul Polman is the Co-Founder and Chair of Imagine, and was the Chief Executive Officer of Unilever from 2009 to 2019. Under his leadership Unilever set out an ambitious vision to decouple its growth from overall environmental footprint and increase its positive social impact.

Sharan Burrow

Co-Chair; General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

Sharan Burrow was elected General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) in 2010.  She was ITUC President from 2006-10, and before that President of the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (2004-06). She is the first woman to have held any of these positions.

Nicholas Stern

Co-Chair; IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government at the London School of Economics and President of the Royal Economic Society
United Kingdom

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern of Brentford, Kt, is IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government at the London School of Economics and President of the British Academy.  He is Chairman of the LSE's Asia Research Centre and of its Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment.  

Felipe Calderón Hinojosa

Honorary Chair, Former President of Mexico

Felipe Calderón was President of Mexico from 2006 to 2012. During his presidency he prioritized the rule of law and public security; a competitive and job-creating economy; equal opportunities; sustainable development; effective democracy; and a responsible foreign policy.

Vera Songwe

Commissioner, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa

Vera Songwe is the Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA). Upon her appointment, she became the first woman to lead the institution in its 60-year history. 

Masatsugu Asakawa

Commissioner, President of the Asian Development Bank

Masatsugu Asakawa is the President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the Chairperson of ADB’s Board of Directors. He was elected President by ADB’s Board of Governors and assumed office on 17 January 2020.

Noel Quinn

Commissioner; Group Chief Executive, HSBC Holdings PLC
Noel Quinn was appointed as interim Group Chief Executive and as a Director of HSBC Holdings in August 2019.
Mr Quinn was appointed Chief Executive, Global Commercial Banking in December 2015. He became a Group Managing Director in September 2016. From 2011 to 2015 he was the Regional Head of Commercial Banking for Asia-Pacific, based in Hong Kong.

Stephen Green

Commissioner; Baron Green of Hurstpierpoint; Chairman, Asia House

Lord Stephen Green is Chairman of the Natural History Museum, Chairman of Asia House and President of the Institute of Export. 

Lord Green began his career in 1970 with the British Government's Ministry of Overseas Development. In 1977, he joined McKinsey & Co. Inc, management consultants, with whom he undertook assignments in Europe, North America and the Middle East. 

Dr. Agnes Kalibata

Commissioner; President of AGRA

As President of AGRA, Dr. Kalibata leads the organization’s efforts with public and private partners to ensure a food secure and prosperous Africa through rapid, sustainable agricultural growth, improving the productivity and livelihoods of millions of smallholder farmers.

This website uses cookies to provide you with an improved user experience. By continuing to browse this site, you consent to the use of cookies and similar technologies

For further details please visit our privacy policy