Members of the Global Commission

The initiative is overseen by a Global Commission comprising former heads of government and finance ministers, and leaders in the fields of economics, business and finance. All members serve in a personal capacity. A list of our Emeritus Commissioners is available here.

Carlos Lopes

Commissioner; Professor, University of Cape Town; Visiting Professor, Sciences Po, Paris; Associate Fellow in the Africa Programme and Chatham House
Guinea Bissau

Carlos Lopes was the 8th serving Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa, an organization of the United Nations (UN) established in 1958 that has grown to become an influential think tank in the continent.

Noel Quinn

Commissioner; Group Chief Executive, HSBC Holdings PLC
Noel Quinn was appointed as interim Group Chief Executive and as a Director of HSBC Holdings in August 2019.
Mr Quinn was appointed Chief Executive, Global Commercial Banking in December 2015. He became a Group Managing Director in September 2016. From 2011 to 2015 he was the Regional Head of Commercial Banking for Asia-Pacific, based in Hong Kong.

Christian Rynning-Tønnesen

Commissioner, President and CEO of Statkraft

Christian Rynning-Tønnesen has been the CEO of Statkraft since 2010 and has previously held various positions in the company’s top management from 1992-2005. Statkraft is a leading company in hydropower internationally and Europe’s largest generator of renewable energy.

Commissioner, Global Commission on the Economy and Climate; CEO, Schibsted Group

Kristin Skogen Lund

Commissioner; CEO, Schibsted Group

Kristin Skogen Lund is the CEO of the Schibsted Group, former Director-General of the Confederation of Norwegian Enterprise and a former Executive Vice President and Head of Nordic region, Digital Services Division and Broadcast at Telenor, the Norwegian telecoms company.

Commissioner, Global Commissioner on the Economy and Climate; Executive Director, International Energy Agency (IEA)

Maria van der Hoeven

Commissioner; Former Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA)

Maria van der Hoeven is the former Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA). As Executive Director of the IEA, Ms. Van der Hoeven steered the agency during a period of exceptional change in the global energy economy.

Chen Yuan is a member of the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate

Chen Yuan

Commissioner; Former Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference; Former Chairman of the China Development Bank (CDB)

Chen Yuan is the Former Vice Chairman of the 12th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC). He was elected to this post in March 2013.