Former Members of the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate 2013-2022

The Global Commission on the Economy and Climate has benefitted from the expertise and contributions of many distinguished members. We thank the following members of the Commission for their work helping shape policy for better economic growth and a better climate up until the Commission closed at the end of 2022.



Mari Elka Pangestu Co-Chair; Member, WRI Board of Directors; Managing Director Of Development Policy And Partnerships, World Bank



Paul Polman

Co-Chair; Business leader, climate and equality campaigner & co-author of Net Positive



Sharan Burrow Co-Chair; General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)



Nicholas Stern

Co-Chair; IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government at the London School of Economics and President of the Royal Economic Society



Felipe Calderón Hinojosa Honorary Chair, Former President of Mexico



Vera Songwe

Commissioner, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa



Masatsugu Asakawa Commissioner, President of the Asian Development Bank



Noel Quinn Commissioner; Group Chief Executive, HSBC Holdings PLC



Stephen Green Commissioner; Baron Green of Hurstpierpoint; Chairman, Asia House



Dr. Agnes Kalibata Commissioner; President of AGRA



Kristalina Georgieva Commissioner; Managing Director and Chair of the Executive Board, IMF



Frannie Leautier Commissioner; Senior Officer and CEO, SouthBridge Investments



Patricia de Lille Commissioner; Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure



Jamshyd Godrej Chairman and Managing Director, Godrej & Boyce Mfg Co. Ltd.



Carlos Lopes

Commissioner; Professor, University of Cape Town; Visiting Professor, Sciences Po, Paris; Associate Fellow in the Africa Programme and Chatham House



Sri Mulyani Indrawati Commissioner, Finance Minister of Indonesia



Chad O. Holliday Commissioner; Chairman, Shell



Naina Lal Kidwai

Commissioner; Chairman, Advent Private Equity India Advisory Board; Non-Executive Director, boards of LafargeHolcim, Max Financial Services, CIPLA, Nayara Energy and Larsen and Toubro; Past President, FICCI



Caio Koch-Weser Commissioner; Chair, European Climate Foundation



Angel Gurría Commissioner; Former Secretary-General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)



Ricardo Lagos Commissioner; Former President of Chile; Professor at Large, Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University



Helen Clark

Commissioner; Former Administrator, UN Development Programme (UNDP); Former Prime Minister of New Zealand



Chen Yuan

Commissioner; Former Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference; Former Chairman of the China Development Bank (CDB)



Suma Chakrabarti Commissioner; Former President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)



Christian Rynning-Tønnesen Commissioner, President and CEO of Statkraft



Kristin Skogen Lund

Former Commissioner; CEO, Schibsted Group



Jean-Pascal Tricoire Former Commissioner; CEO and Chairman, Schneider Electric



Maria van der Hoeven Former Commissioner; Former Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA)

Emeritus Commission Members

The Global Commission on the Economy and Climate has benefited from the expertise and contributions of many distinguished members. We thank the following members of the Commission for their past work helping shape policy for better economic growth and a better climate.



Stuart Gulliver Former Group Chief Executive, HSBC Holdings plc



Nemat Shafik

Former Commissioner; Deputy Governor of the Bank of England; Director of the London School of Economics



Jens Stoltenberg Former Commissioner; Secretary-General of NATO; Former Prime Minister of Norway



S. (Kris) Gopalakrishnan Former Commissioner; Co-Founder and Former Executive Vice Chairman, Infosys;

Chairman of Axilor Ventures



Michel Liès

Former Commissioner, Former CEO of the Swiss Re Group; Chairman of Zurich Insurance Group



Daniel L. Doctoroff Former Commissioner; Founder and CEO of Sidewalk Labs; Former President and CEO of Bloomberg LP



Trevor Manuel

Former Commissioner, Former Minister and Chairperson of the South African Planning Commission and Former Finance Minister of South Africa; Deputy Chairman at Rothschild & Co.



Luísa Diogo

Former Commissioner; Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Barclays Bank Mozambique; Former Prime Minister of Mozambique



Takehiko Nakao

Former Commissioner, Former President of the Asian Development Bank



Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala Former Co-Chair, Former Finance Minister of Nigeria



Annise Parker Former Commissioner; Former Mayor of Houston



Zhu Levin Former Commissioner; Former President and Chief Executive Officer of the China International Capital Corporation (CICC)



Ingrid Bonde Former Commissioner; Chairman of Board at Alecta, Former Director of Danske Bank A/S, Former Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Vattenfall AB