The Global Commission on the Economy and Climate has benefited from the expertise and contributions of many distinguished members. We thank the following members of the Commission for their past work helping shape policy for better economic growth and a better climate.

An advisory group of leading economists from developed and developing countries carried out a review of the New Climate Economy 2014 report Better Growth, Better Climate.  

Michel Liès

Former Commissioner, Former CEO of the Swiss Re Group; Chairman of Zurich Insurance Group

Michel Liès was the former Chief Executive Officer of the Swiss Re Group, one of the world’s leading global wholesale providers of reinsurance, insurance and other insurance-based forms of risk transfer.  He has served in this role from February 2012 to June 2016.

S. (Kris) Gopalakrishnan

Former Commissioner; Co-Founder and Former Executive Vice Chairman, Infosys; Chairman of Axilor Ventures

S. (Kris) Gopalakrishnan is the former Executive Vice Chairman of Infosys, a company he founded in 1981 along with N.R. Narayana Murthy and five others. He was President of the Confederation of Indian Industry for 2013.

Jens Stoltenberg

Former Commissioner; Secretary-General of NATO; Former Prime Minister of Norway

Jens Stoltenberg was Prime Minister of Norway from 2000-01 and 2005-13 and currently serves as the 13th Secretary-General of NATO.  He was previously Minister of Finance (1996-1997); Minister of Trade and Energy (1993-1996) and State Secretary at the Ministry of the Environment (1990-1991).

Nemat Shafik

Former Commissioner; Deputy Governor of the Bank of England; Director of the London School of Economics
United Kingdom

Nemat Shafik is the Deputy Governor of the Bank of England, serving on the Global Commission in a personal capacity. Previously, she was the Deputy Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund from April 2011 until June 2014, where she oversaw work on countries in Europe and the Middle East.

Stuart Gulliver

Former Group Chief Executive, HSBC Holdings plc
United Kingdom

Stuart Gulliver is the Former Group Chief Executive of HSBC Holdings plc. He is also Chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited. Mr Gulliver joined HSBC in 1980 and has held a number of key roles in the Group’s operations worldwide, including postings in London, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Kuala Lumpur and the United Arab Emirates.

Ingrid Bonde

Former Commissioner; Chairman of Board at Alecta, Former Director of Danske Bank A/S, Former Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Vattenfall AB

Ingrid Bonde is the former Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Vattenfall AB. Vattenfall is one of the largest generators of electricity in Europe, and the largest producer of heat, with more than 10 million customers, primarily in Sweden, Germany and the Netherlands.

Zhu Levin

Former Commissioner; Former President and Chief Executive Officer of the China International Capital Corporation (CICC)

Zhu Levin served as President and CEO of China International Capital Corporation Limited (CICC) for nearly 17 years.

Annise Parker

Former Commissioner; Former Mayor of Houston
United States

Annise Parker is Mayor of Houston, one of only two women to hold the office. She is responsible for all aspects of the general management of the city and for enforcement of all laws and ordinances. A second generation native Houstonian, she is the only person in the city’s history to hold the offices of council member, controller and mayor. 

Takehiko Nakao

Former Commissioner, Former President of the Asian Development Bank

Takehiko Nakao is the former President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the Chairperson of ADB’s Board of Directors. He was elected President and assumed office in April 2013.