The Global Commission on the Economy and Climate has benefited from the expertise and contributions of many distinguished members. We thank the following members of the Commission for their past work helping shape policy for better economic growth and a better climate.

An advisory group of leading economists from developed and developing countries carried out a review of the New Climate Economy 2014 report Better Growth, Better Climate.  

Ingrid Bonde

Former Commissioner; Chairman of Board at Alecta, Former Director of Danske Bank A/S, Former Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Vattenfall AB

Ingrid Bonde is the former Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Vattenfall AB. Vattenfall is one of the largest generators of electricity in Europe, and the largest producer of heat, with more than 10 million customers, primarily in Sweden, Germany and the Netherlands.

Zhu Levin

Former Commissioner; Former President and Chief Executive Officer of the China International Capital Corporation (CICC)

Zhu Levin served as President and CEO of China International Capital Corporation Limited (CICC) for nearly 17 years.

Annise Parker

Former Commissioner; Former Mayor of Houston
United States

Annise Parker is Mayor of Houston, one of only two women to hold the office. She is responsible for all aspects of the general management of the city and for enforcement of all laws and ordinances. A second generation native Houstonian, she is the only person in the city’s history to hold the offices of council member, controller and mayor. 

Takehiko Nakao

Former Commissioner, Former President of the Asian Development Bank

Takehiko Nakao is the former President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the Chairperson of ADB’s Board of Directors. He was elected President and assumed office in April 2013.  

Luísa Diogo

Former Commissioner; Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Barclays Bank Mozambique; Former Prime Minister of Mozambique

Luísa Dias Diogo was Prime Minister of Mozambique from 2004 to 2010.  From 1999-2004 she was Minister of Planning and Finance.  

Trevor Manuel

Former Commissioner, Former Minister and Chairperson of the South African Planning Commission and Former Finance Minister of South Africa; Deputy Chairman at Rothschild & Co.
South Africa

Trevor Manuel served as Minister in the Presidency and Chairperson of the National Planning Commission of South Africa.  Elected to Parliament in 1994 in South Africa’s first free elections, he was Minister of Trade from 1994-96 before being appointed Finance Minister by Nelson Mandela.  He was Finance Minister from 1996-2009, one of the longest serving in that post in the country’s history.

Daniel L. Doctoroff

Former Commissioner; Founder and CEO of Sidewalk Labs; Former President and CEO of Bloomberg LP
United States

Daniel Doctoroff is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Bloomberg LP, the leading provider of financial information. He joined Bloomberg in January 2008 as President of the company and was appointed Chief Executive Officer in August 2011. In recent years he has led Bloomberg through the financial crisis, achieving record results each year.

Michel Liès

Former Commissioner, Former CEO of the Swiss Re Group; Chairman of Zurich Insurance Group

Michel Liès was the former Chief Executive Officer of the Swiss Re Group, one of the world’s leading global wholesale providers of reinsurance, insurance and other insurance-based forms of risk transfer.  He has served in this role from February 2012 to June 2016.

S. (Kris) Gopalakrishnan

Former Commissioner; Co-Founder and Former Executive Vice Chairman, Infosys; Chairman of Axilor Ventures

S. (Kris) Gopalakrishnan is the former Executive Vice Chairman of Infosys, a company he founded in 1981 along with N.R. Narayana Murthy and five others. He was President of the Confederation of Indian Industry for 2013.